An illustrated novel by Daniel Handler.

I first saw the book and grabbed a copy of it five years ago but it wasn’t until earlier this year that I actually committed myself to finish.

 

“…your heart doesn’t even know what it desires until it turns up.”

 

“Take back the smile and the night, take it all back, I wish I could.”

 

“I gave you an adventure, Ed, right in front of you but you never saw it until I showed you, and that’s why we broke up.”

 

“I started making plans, thinking we would get that far.”

 

“Undeveloped, the whole thing, tossed into a box before we really had a chance to know what we had, and that’s why we broke up.”

 

“We couldn’t only have the magic nights buzzing through the wires. We had to have the days, too…”

 

“..and you were something else fierce and fiery in my chest and I tired to put it together in my head…”

 

“It didn’t last, it wasn’t clear for much longer, and that’s why we broke up…”

 

“But everything else is gone. I mean, I love you is gone…”

 

“It’s why we broke up, Ed, a small thing that’s disappeared or maybe was never really in my hands in the first place.”

 

“I stayed there loving you, though the love made me, not sad but I guess melancholy, for a reason I couldn’t point to.”

 

“Then where were you, is what I wanted to say, all my lonely times, but right next to me, I knew, was where…”

